Shallotte NC Misdemeanor Attorney - Shoplifting Larceny Lawyer
As in most states, crimes in North Carolina as well tear into misdemeanors and felonies.
The term misdemeanor is believed to origin in the late 15th century from mis- which was a prefix for wrong, and Middle English demenure or demeanor which meant handle, manage, conduct.
Compared to felonies, misdemeanors are the "lesser" criminal act—they are generally punished less severely than felonies.
There are four classes of misdemeanors in North Carolina ranging from the least serious Class 3 to the most serious Class A-1. A Class 3 misdemeanor carries a maximum active sentence of 20 days and a Class A-1 misdemeanor carries a maximum active sentence of 150 days of imprisonment. In regards to misdemeanors, the defendant's prior record level is sectioned off into three categories which are: level 1- no prior convictions; level 2- one to four prior convictions and; level 3- five or more prior convictions.
You should contact an attorney immediately if you have been charged with a misdemeanor. Do not discuss your matter with anyone except for your attorney until and if your attorney advises you to. Your attorney can assist in informing you of the many things that can either help or hurt your particular case as well as help you minimize the consequences you will ultimately receive as a result of a criminal charge.